Upcycling: How my room went from boring to awesome!

I moved to Bangalore two years ago and since then I have shifted rooms thrice. Getting back from work, to a dull looking room was depressing. I thought changing residences would help. But it was after moving for the third time that I understood that the problem was not with the room but rather what I did with it. When the room was empty except for a bed and a couple of bags, of course it looked gloomy.

So I decided to do something about it. I browsed online for wall hangings, rugs and what not. This is when I came across the term ‘upcycle’. I would have moved on without a second glance, but a couple of  products under that title caught my eyes and I decided to have a look.

All the products that were hosted looked extremely funky and cool. I was surprised to see old liquor bottles converted to beautiful candle holders and chandeliers. Being the curious person I am, I decided to research more about ‘upcycle’. Turns out it is more about reusing waste products than actually manufacturing new ones. I personally felt it was way better than recycling.

Now, as much as I am curious, I am also lazy and not particularly skilled at making crafts and that sort of thing. So I decided that I’d start buying upcycled products from the many vendors out there and so far it has turned out to be good. I bought wall hangings, a clock, a key-chain holder, chair and table, posters and other awesome stuff, and boy doesn’t my room look lively. The products are made from either reclaimed wood, old vinyl records or some or the other kind of non-biodegradable plastic, which would otherwise go to landfills.

I’m not a hippie or a party animal or that sort of a person, but back in the room, with a low light setting, and all these awesome stuff on the wall and some pretty darn good rock music, it kind of does make me feel cool. And the best part, I actually do feel I am doing some good by keeping waste from the landfills.

I realised that if people start doing what I am doing, we can easily put an end to the production of harmful goods and put to good use the things that we already have. I do hope others join me in this. Taking a leaf of out of Donald Trump’s campaign, “Let’s make the World great again.”

Did you find it interesting? Check out other interesting and responsible stuff on www.happystry.com

Leave a Reply

